Clubs

All of our children experience a rich arts and cultural programme. We have a wide variety of co-curricular groups that are run by our teaching team and operate at lunch time. Depending on ages and numbers, children may join any of the following activities:


Junior Art Club Term 3 All NE-Y2 children who love to draw are welcome to attend. No cost. Wednesdays in Kindle 2 @ 12:45 pm

Contact: Natalie McCulley natalieb@georgestreet.school.nz


Junior Choir Terms 2 & 3

Fridays in Room 3 @ 12:45 pm

Contact: Bronwyn Macgregor bronwyn@georgestreet.school.nz


Junior Makey Makey Term 2

Club Wednesdays in Room 2 @ 12:45 pm. No cost.

Contact: Nichola Ferguson nichola@georgestreet.school.nz


Junior Scooter Club Term 2

Thursdays @ 1pm on the junior courts. No cost.

Children require their own scooter and helmet.

Contact: Michele Dakers micdak@georgestreet.school.nz


Middle Team Choir Terms 2 and 3

Wednesdays @ 2:15 pm in Room 10. No cost. Performances as arranged.

Contact: Linda King linda@georgestreet.school.nz


Brass Trumpet, Cornet and Trombone Lessons

Thursday mornings in Room 8A. Private tuition costs and instruments for hire.

Cost: Group lessons (3 max) $10 per lesson and $40 bond for plastic instruments.

Contact: Dr E. Moore 027 289 6570 or email: allbrassclass@gmail.com


Chess For Years 3-6 Terms 1 & 2. *Starts in week 5, term 1

Enjoy the opportunity to learn to play chess and to play against each other.

Fridays @12:45 pm in Te Puna Ako - upper level. No cost.

Contact: Sam Hamilton sam@georgestreet.school.nz


Drums For Years 3-6

Wednesdays during the day.

Cost: $30 per 30 min lesson. $20 per 20 min lesson.

Free group lessons at lunch time as a taster.

Contact: Andrew Harray 021 271 8525 drumajh@gmail.com


Drama Club For Years 3-6

Enjoy the opportunity to play drama games, learn short scenes and put on mini performances.

Thursdays @ 12:45 pm in Room 8. No cost.

Contact: Helen Spain helens@georgestreet.school.nz


Kapa Haka For Senior Children

Enjoy the opportunity to get involved with practices. No cost.

Thursdays @ 1:30 pm Performances as arranged.

Contact: to be confirmed


Pasifika Performance Thursdays @ 2:10 pm

Performances as arranged. No cost.

Contact: Claire Spencer claire@georgestreet.school.nz


Ukulele Senior Uke-Jam Terms 2 & 3

In room 16 - details to be advised

Contact: Sam Hamilton sam@georgestreet.school.nz


Piano / Keyboard Piano and keyboard lessons at times to be arranged. Private tuition costs.

Brenda has some spaces available.

Contact: Brenda 03 489 3032 or 020 4001 6743

Alternatively contact: Dianne 0275 049 450


Saturday Morning Music Term Times

Saturday mornings at George Street Normal School

A variety of instruments to choose from and hire ($80 per year). Lessons are 1 hour

Contact: Stephanie Hobbs 477 2296


Science Club For Years 3-4 Term 2

Tuesdays. Details to be advised.

For Years 5-6 Details to be advised

Contact: Michele Nicolau michele@georgestreet.school.nz


Kaitiaki Club Wednesdays. Meet by M2A/M2B. No cost.

Contacts: Claire Spencer claire@georgestreet.school.nz

Jo Henderson joanne@georgestreet.school.nz


Philosophy Club For Years 2-6 Terms 2 &3

Children view short videos on science and technology topics and debate issues, challenging the viewpoints of others in a respectful way. No cost.

Tuesdays @ 12:30 pm in Room 7

Contact: Michelle Hunt michelleh@georgestreet.school.nz


Construction Club Terms 2 &3

Children on the Senior Side are invited to use the school's Lego or other materials in the Maker Space to design and build.

Thursdays @ 12:45 pm in the Maker Space.

Contact: Catherine Smith catheine@georgestreet.school.nz


Construction Club Terms 2 &3

Children on the Senior Side are invited to use the school's Lego or other materials in the Maker Space to design and build.

Thursdays @ 12:45 pm in the Maker Space.

Contact: Catherine Smith catheine@georgestreet.school.nz


Junior Side Term 3

All children on the Junior Side are invited to use the school's Lego in Room 4

Tuesdays @ 12:45 pm

Contact: Sarah Mackenzie sarah@georgestreet.school.nz


Jump Jam For Years 2-6 (actual date to be confirmed)

Contacts: Claire Harper claireh@georgestreet.school.nz

Grace Dore grace@georgestreet.school.nz


Programming For Years 2-6 Terms 2 & 3

Children on the Senior Side will have the chance to develop the basic concepts of programming to create some animated computer games using tools such as Scratch, Lego, Mindstorms and Sphero. No cost.

Mondays @ 12:45 pm - Te Puna Ako - upper level

Contact: Keith Mulholland keith@georgestreet.school.nz


Epro8 Term 3 - from week 4

If you like participating in STEAM (Science/Technology/Engineering/Arts/Music) challenges, then you will enjoy being part of Epro8. No cost.

Thursdays

Contact: Sam Hamilton sam@georgestreet.school.nz


La Petite Acadēmie For Years 2-6

Fun French Beginners' Classes with the emphasis on communicating orally through the interactive use of fun games, some role-play and 'real life' activities.

Tuesdays and Fridays @ 12:30 pm in the Learning Hub.

Contact: Megan admin@Lpa.co.nz 022 358 2211

C'est si bon!


Writers' Club For Years4-6

For those children who absolutely love writing and want to explore it further!

Details to be advised.

Contact: Robyn Wood robyn@georgestreet.school.nz